Home > Lync > Lync 2010 Mobility, Push Notifications, and Default SIP Domains

Lync 2010 Mobility, Push Notifications, and Default SIP Domains

December 22, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Installing Lync 2010 from scratch was definitely an experience in trial and error. The documentation is weak at best at directing you when it comes to choosing a SIP domain. I initially chose to deploy Lync with a default SIP domain of contoso.local. Our default email addresses are @contoso.com.

When word hit that Microsoft would soon be releasing Lync clients for mobile platforms, I scrambled to get our on-premesis install ready to go. What discouraged me about the documentation was that it wasn’t made readily apparent that in order to use the mobile clients, you need to have a publicly-resolvable SIP domain. You can’t sign in as user@contoso.local. Frustrating to make the switch mid-stream, after Lync has already been deployed company-wide.

After going through the docs, I finally thought I had Mobility configured properly. The last thing to get working was federation with Microsoft’s Lync Push gateway. I was getting a 504 timeout on the following command:

Test-CsFederatedPartner -TargetFqdn “<fqdn of Lync Edge server>” -domain “push.lync.com” -ProxyFqdn “sipfed.online.lync.com”

Thanks to this technet thread, I figured out what the last issue was. Since I started my Lync deployment with contoso.local as my SIP domain, it was still set as the default, even after I had switched all my users over to contoso.com. I ran the following command:

Set-CsSipDomain contoso.com -IsDefault $True

And my Test-CsFederatedPartner command was successful! Then it was a matter of waiting for Microsoft to get their push gateway up and running (really Microsoft? Couldn’t sort this out before you released the clients and save yourself a lot of trouble?), and Test-CsMcxPushNotification worked as well!

Thought this issue was important to point out, since I would assume that many Lync deployments were rolled out using local SIP domains and then had to change course along the way to satisfy external communication requirements.

Categories: Lync Tags: ,
  1. John Mark
    April 18, 2012 at 5:00 pm | #1

    Hi!

    Did you change the Default Primary SIP Domain using Topology Builder and published the topology or did you just use a cmdlet? Can I ask what you did after you change the Primary SIP Domain? Changed the Simple URLS, requested and assigned new Certificates, and re-configured DNS Records?

    I have the same problem (wrong Default Primary SIP Domain).Thanks!

  2. April 18, 2012 at 5:04 pm | #2

    Hi John, thanks for the comment. I changed the primary SIP domain via the cmdlet shown in the post. I believe you are correct; I made those changes after changing the default SIP domain; basically mirroring what I had done on the incorrect domain.

    • John Mark
      April 18, 2012 at 5:07 pm | #3

      Oh ok, thanks! :) Btw, do you think there is a difference if you change it via topology builder or the cmdlet?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

